The mayor and four council members make up La Crescent’s elected City Council. The mayor serves a two-year term and the council members serve four-year staggered terms. Local elections take place in November of even-numbered years. Terms of office become effective in January following the election. The mayor and council members are elected at large. The Council meets the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 5:00 p.m. at the La Crescent Community Building, 336 South 1st Street, meeting dates may be altered due to Holidays and is reflected on the City calendar.  Meetings are open to the public. Agendas for City Council and commission meetings are available at City Hall on Fridays prior to each meeting or by navigating to the heading “Agendas” below. Minutes of City Council meetings are available on the web the Tuesday following each Council meeting. Access the full set of minutes by navigating to the heading “Minutes” on this page.


City Council Members

Teresa O’Donnell-Ebner

Cherryl Jostad

Dale Williams

Mike Poellinger, Mayor

Ryan Hutchinson

Agendas & Minutes

Please use this form when submitting items for the City Council to add to the meeting agenda, or when wishing to address the City Council at a meeting:  AGENDA REQUEST FORM

Plans Under Active Consideration:

  • None at this time.

Adopted Plans:

Proposed Budget:

Adopted Budget:

2024 General Fund Budget

2023 General Fund Budget

If you are considering starting a business in the Greater La Crosse, WI area or moving your business to the the La Crosse area, consider the City of La Crescent. We have lower property taxes than Wisconsin, room to grow, an easy 5 minute commute to downtown La Crosse and all of the Upper Mississippi recreational opportunities of La Crosse and Onalaska, WI.